ChicagoVerseUniteD: Chicago Scene Salvation

The CVU 2011 Forecast: The Lifeline

Posted in CVU Cover Story 01/11,The Lifeline by Jaime Black on January 29th, 2011

For this month’s ChicagoVerseUniteD cover story, every day in January will preview a different local artist’s plans for 2011. Today: The Lifeline!

The Lifeline

Dynamic orchestral-fused rock act The Lifeline is no stranger to grand statements, as anyone who’s seen the group live can attest. With sweeping song structures and live violin work courtesy of the band’s Rebecca Faber, The Lifeline is a band that leaves an impression, if not a mark. Now, with today’s release of the band’s latest full length production, Reflections Of Hope, The Lifeline may have made its boldest statement yet. With symphonic spirit backing thunderous modern rock productions led by frontman Ryan Hope’s commanding vocal presence, it’s clear neither The Lifeline nor their latest effort are meant to be taken lightly. Speaking to CVU about the effort, Hope expands upon the experience of and intent in making Reflections Of Hope.

“We began writing the material for this record almost two years ago. In that time we have gone through so many changes both sonically and dynamically within the band, that the final product has really turned out to be something that we could have never predicted. Sure you are still going to hear the things that you know and love about The Lifeline, but with much more depth and sincerity.”

“Rebecca and I started this record by brainstorming some of the things that we felt brought us to where we are now as a band and as people,” the singer continues. “Reflections of Hope is intended to be not only a story about that journey but about the journey’s that others are experiencing in whatever stage they are at in their lives. As corny as it may sound, we aim to give people hope, and in a world where most people wouldn’t stop to piss on you if you were on fire, it’s important for us to address the issues that we address. I think that this is one thing that will never change from album to album with The Lifeline.”

“To us, growth is so important,” Hope emphasizes, before adding “I think as an artist if you are not growing in these ways from album to album then you need to reevaluate your processes.”

The tracklist for the record is as follows below.

The Lifeline – Reflections Of Hope
1. Why So Serious?
2. Forgive, but don’t Forget
3. Push and Pull
4. Wherever you go, there you are
5. Indivi (duality)
6. Hellboy
7. Never Enough
8. The Alchemist (Stay with me)
9. Crashing Waves
10. Romeo and Juliet
11. Rebuild Reality
12. Reflections of Hope
13. The Ending

The band headlines Metro tonight for the Reflections Of Hope record release show. Check out Faber and Hope’s interview below from this past Sunday’s Local 101 on Q101 with Chris Payne in support of the event.

[vodpod id=Video.5457394&w=425&h=50&fv=]

The Lifeline Record Release Show

Leave a Reply