ChicagoVerseUniteD: Chicago Scene Salvation

Supreme Cuts Team With Haleek Maul, Hit Daytrotter For Live Session

Posted in Supreme Cuts by Jaime Black on August 23rd, 2012

Supreme Cuts

(Photo via Weird Magic)

Hot off the heels of the duo’s recently released Whispers In The Dark full length, previews from Supreme Cuts‘ collaborations with up-and-coming MC Haleek Maul have begun to hit the web. First up is the ominous “The Dummy,” posted at StereoGum, and which Cuts’ Austin Keultjes calls their “hella warped twisted take on the state of hip hop today.”

Also from Supreme Cuts and Maul is “M00N,” off both artists’ forthcoming Mishka release, set to post on August 28th. Check out that track below, via Fake Shore Drive, and find the group’s remix of Ryan Hemsworth‘s “Overthinking” at SPIN, as well as Supreme Cuts’ recently posted Daytrotter session here.

Tagged with:

New CVU Podcast Cover Story Series: Supreme Cuts!

Posted in ChicagoVerseUniteD,CVU Cover Story Series,Dynasty Podcasts,Supreme Cuts by Jaime Black on July 18th, 2012

Supreme Cuts

This week on the ChicagoVerseUniteD Cover Story Series audio podcast: Austin Keultjes and Mike Perry of Supreme Cuts! In an interview recorded onsite at their recent Empty Bottle show, the pair discuss their debut full length, Whispers In The Dark, delve into the record’s many Chicago references, and preview a slew of upcoming Supreme Cuts releases and plans. Stream or download that podcast below, followed by streams of Whispers cut “Belly” and the duo’s treatment of Maroon 5‘s “Payphone.”

Supreme Cuts Release, Stream Debut Full Length, Remix Maroon 5

Posted in Supreme Cuts by Jaime Black on July 10th, 2012

Supreme Cuts

Recent Reader cover story stars Supreme Cuts have been busy as of late. Today marks the release of the group’s Whispers In The Dark full length, currently streaming online in its entirety via SPIN. The duo of Austin Keultjes and Mike Perry also recently remixed Maroon 5‘s mega-hit “Payphone,” giving the summer anthem an epic, spacey feel. Find that remix following the group’s new Fader mix and it’s tracklisting. And catch Supreme Cuts live this Wednesday, July 11th at Empty Bottle (tix) for the Whispers in the Dark record release show..

Supreme Cuts – Fader mix
1. Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh- Supreme Cuts
2. Belly (The-Drum Remix)- Supreme Cuts
3. Go In- Shady ft King Louie
4. Fem Pressure- Dubble Dutch
5. Play- Goapele
7. Luv U Found- DJ Rashad
8. Beyond Bass- Desired State
9. Watch Out- DJ Fokus
10. Drinkin- Dj Rashad, Manny, Boylan
11. Motion Picture- King Louie
12. Boy U Got Me- Brenmar
13. Angel (X-Men Remix)- Brandy
14. Sherm- Supreme Cuts
15. Radikal- DJ Gant Man
16. Do U- Do or Die
17. Lessons of Darkness (The Range Remix)- Supreme Cuts
18. ISSUE Interlude
19. Save That Shit- Chief Keef

Tagged with:

Supreme Cuts Look Towards ‘Whispers In The Dark’ Full Length And ‘Chrome Lips’ Mixtape With New Tracks

Posted in Supreme Cuts by Jaime Black on May 2nd, 2012

Supreme Cuts

With the group’s upcoming full length, Whispers In The Dark, dropping on June 12th, Supreme Cuts have been keeping busy as of late. First up is a preview of that album, with the Fader-premiered “(Youngster Gone Off That) Sherm.” Travel with that airy and minimalist adventure below.

Also on deck for the duo is their forthcoming mixape Chrome Lips, set for release later this summer through Dovecote and Mishka NYC. Check out that site’s premiere of cold cut “Gully,” featuring Haleek Maul, below.

Tagged with:

Supreme Cuts Announce Summer Release Date For ‘Whispers In The Dark,’ Preview Album With New Songs

Posted in Supreme Cuts by Jaime Black on April 2nd, 2012


Back at the start of the year, CVU checked in with Supreme Cuts about the group’s forthcoming full length debut, Whispers In The Dark. At the time, the group’s Austin Keultjes told this site “The music coming out this year will sound like the epic soundtrack for a world altering paradigm shift/good makeout music.”

Now, new information and music from that effort has begun to surface. The album (artwork above) will drop on June 12th via Dovecote Records, and will feature 12, pardon the pun, cuts that incorporate juke, ambient, rap, and more. Find that tracklist below, followed by a download of spaced-out vibe-laden first single “Lessons Of Darkness (Apology),” via XLR8R, a video treatment of the Whispers track “Belly,” and a video trailer for the record. And find more from Supreme Cuts at the acts’ Bandcamp page.

Supreme Cuts – Whispers In The Dark
1. Whispers pt. 1
2. Lessons Of Darkness (Apology)
3. (Youngster Gone Off That) Sherm
4. E2
5. Ciroc Waterfalls
6. Intermission
7. Whispers pt. 2
8. Belly
9. Epitome
10. 18th
11. Val Venus
12. Whispers In The Dark

Supreme Cuts – “Lessons of Darkness (Apology)”

Tagged with:

The CVU 2012 Forecast: Supreme Cuts!

Posted in CVU 2012 Forecast,Supreme Cuts by Jaime Black on January 14th, 2012

For this month’s ChicagoVerseUniteD cover story, every day in January will preview 2012 plans for a Chicago talent or tastemaker. Today: Supreme Cuts!

Supreme Cuts

In March 2011, Austin Keultjes and Mike Perry released the first song under the banner of their new group, then a production project, the haunting and ambient electronic soul-infused Supreme Cuts. The project isn’t the first time the two have collaborated together, with both having headed up Chicago dream-pop outfit Dirty Diamonds. In August, Supreme Cuts released its debut EP, Trouble, on Smasll Plate Records. And now, as Keultjes reveals, the act is looking towards a proper album.

“Around march of 2012 supreme cuts will release our first full length record, Whispers In The Dark, on Dovecote Records,” Keultjes reveals to CVU. “After that we are working with a slew of rappers on various projects but can’t say much more about that.”

“The music coming out this year will sound like the epic soundtrack for a world altering paradigm shift/good makeout music,” Keultjes adds.

Check out the Supreme Cuts Soundcloud set below, followed by the group’s videos for the tracks “Trouble” and “Fools.”